Email 14 Oct 2012

Bula Vinaka na nogu matavuvale!
Glad the Pictures made it! It took forever to load them! If I had more time I would have been able to send a few more! I’ll try and get some today too. Also, tell Laura Vinaka Sara Vakalevu! And that I am slowly getting immune to the mosquito bites! But some of them still swell up pretty good.

So with packages and letters, I learned that there will be times that I won’t get them for months. If I go out to a different Island or far off area, they will probably sit at the mission home for awhile before I get them. But for now, I am in an area right next to the mission home! I have one request for a package. People really love the family pictures. My comp has a small 5×7 photo album with just random pictures and family and friend shots that everyone one loves to see! Then they ask for one from me to see! So far, I just show them the bookmark and the picture of Abby. But if you wanted, you could compile a small photo album with family pics, random pics, hobby pics, anything that just shows the life back home! The calendar Ariel made would be cool to bring around, but I prefer to keep it at my desk, plus it’s a bit big 😛

Anyway, about the week! Crazy awesome week! The first few weeks we were struggling to find new investigators, but this week by pure divine interference, we obtained 5 new investigators. All very high potential! They were just handed to us! One of them was a referral from church headquarters! There was an indian lady here who visited California and while there visited a temple visitor center. She submitted her name and address and we got it the same day! So we waited for her to get back from the US and visited her the other day! When we got to her home, at the same time, a random Fijian RM walked by and said hi to us. Then he just happened to have time to join in on the lesson with us! Everything just fell into place and worked perfect! And that is only one example of the miracles this last week! We taught this random Fijian man we contacted while trying to find his son who is a less active member. From that lesson, he loved what we said, but didn’t seem to interested. The next week however, we ran into him on the street while he was headed to visit his wife’s grave. Perfect moment. He said he thought we were going to come back and visit again sooner! So we felt guilty for not trying to visit him again. He asked us to come back the next day! So we did! We taught him the first lesson with some of his family. We had another failure moment where we realized we forgot to bring a Book of Mormon for him. We told him we would get him one though. It was a great lesson and he just loves having us there! So the next day I was on exchanges with the Zone leader (who both of them are crazy awesome), and we ran to his place to see if we could give him a Book of Mormon before our next lesson the next day. When we gave it to him, he instantly bowed his head and thanked the Lord for the gift. I’m telling you, this guy is golden and as prepared to hear the gospel as you can be! The next day we taught about the Book of Mormon and about the restoration again. My companion, who’s been out for a year, says it was the strongest lesson he has had his whole mission. The spirit was so strong it was like we were swimming in it! He read in that one night the full introduction, testimonies, and first chapter.  After we explained about the Book, he dropped his head in prayer. It was silent in the room for at least 5 or 6 minutes. He was in tears and trembling. We committed him to baptism when he knows that the Book of Mormon is true. It was the most incredible experience of my life.

So conference. I don’t think I’ve ever been this excited or sucked into conference before! I loved it! The mission ages, Elder Holland (as always), Elder Oaks, Elder Neilson, etc! Everything was incredible. There was at least one thing in every talk that was pointed straight to me. I just loved every bit of it! It seemed to me like it was focused a lot on the family and mission work. I loved how Elder Neilson’s talk was pointed to the rest of the world. Kinda put some pressure on the missionaries! But I hope it opens up people to ask! Basically, I can’t wait to get the Liahona to be able to study all of the talks again. Seriously, every single talk answered prayers.

My companion says to tell you that he is awesome and that he eats a lot! Which both are true. He goes through 4 plates no problem! Also, his family is just in West Jordan and here is his mothers number in case you want to contact them at all! 

So for a quick funny story (a guy humor story), me and my comp were starting companion study. We opened with the song “All Creatures of Our God and King”. However, the second verse starts out “Thou rushing wind which art so strong”. Right as we sang that line, my comp basically sent a loud strong rushing wind by accident. We fell to the floor laughing for about 20 min before we gave up on singing the rest of the song and calmed enough to say an opening prayer. I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time! Also, as for my digestive system, it been the same the whole time. My comp wonders if I’m allergic to curry. We have it all the time. It’s nothing bad, but I do cherish my time in the flat near the toilet!

That’s all I have at the moment! Those caramel apple sugar babies, you need to get some, make hot chocolate, and while it is hot, dump the sugar babies in and let them warm up for a bit! Then use a spoon and eat the sugar babies. Crazy good. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

